Follow

User Policies

To view the user policies page:

  1. Navigate to Site Administration from Administration block
  2. Navigate to Users and then to Permissions
  3. Select User policies

 

Short description of the configurations available:

Role for visitors - Users who are not logged in to the site will be treated as if they have the role specified here, granted to them at the site context. The role of Guest is the default and the recommended setting for standard Moodle sites. The user will still be required to login to participate in an activity.

Role for guest - This option specifies the role that will automatically be assigned to the guest user. This role is also temporarily assigned to non enrolled users when they enter a course that allows guests without password.

Role for learner – This option specifies the role for learners

Role for manager -  This option specifies the role for managers

Role for assessor – This option specifies the role for assessor

Default role for all users - It is recommended that the default role for all users is set to Authenticated user. To set it to a custom role, the custom role must be assignable in the system context and have role archetype set to none.

Creators' role in new courses - If the user does not already have the permission to manage the new course, the user is automatically enrolled using this role.

Restorer’s role in course

Auto-login guest - If not set, then visitors must click the "Login as a guest" button before entering a course which allows guest access. Note: If auto-login guest is set, the guest login button also needs to be set to show (in Administration > Site administration > Plugins > Authentication > Manage authentication), even though visitors won't necessarily use it.

Hide user fields -The following user fields appear on users' profile pages. Certain user fields are also listed on the course participants page. You can increase student privacy by hiding selected user fields.

 

  • Description
  • City/town
  • Country
  • Web page
  • ICQ number
  • Skype ID
  • Yahoo ID
  • AIM ID
  • MSN ID
  • Last access
  • My courses
  • First access
  • Groups
  • Suspended account

 

    User fields on users' profile pages are hidden from all users with the capability moodle/user:viewhiddendetails not set. User fields on the course participants page are hidden from all users with the capability moodle/course:viewhiddenuserfields not set.

Show user identity - Any of the following fields may be shown to users with the capability moodle/site:viewuseridentity when searching for users and displaying lists of users.

 

  • ID number
  • Email address
  • Phone number
  • Mobile phone
  • Department
  • Institution

 

This setting is useful for sites with large number of users, where the likelihood of users with the same name is high.

 

Tip: Select only one or two fields that are mandatory at your institution. Do not select more than two fields otherwise tables become very wide.

Full name format

 

See Additional name fields for details, also about the alternative full name format (in 2.8 onwards).

Maximum users per page - You can choose here the maximum number of users to be displayed when searching in courses, groups, cohorts etc. The default is 100 but if your Moodle site is very large you can increase the number here.

Enable Gravatar

 

Gravatar -  Gravatar is an abbreviation for globally recognized avatar and is a service for providing globally unique avatars. An administrator can enable the use of gravatars in Administration > Site administration > Users > Permissions > User policies. If a user has not uploaded a user picture, Moodle will check whether the user's email address has an associated gravatar and if so, will use the gravatar as the user's picture.

 

Gravatar default image URL – It is possible to set, if gravatars are enabled, an alternative default user picture may be specified. The options are:

  • A gravatar default image - by entering a code such as mm. See https://en.gravatar.com/site/implement/images/ for codes of other gravatar default images.
  • A specified image - by entering the image URL

If the field is left empty then the theme's default user picture is used.

Enable temporary managers - Enable functionality that allows for assigning a temporary manager to a user. Disabling this will cause all current temporary managers to be unassigned on next cron run.

Temporary manager selection - Determine which users will be available in the temporary manager selection dialog. Selecting 'Only staff managers' will remove any assigned temporary managers who don't have the 'staff manager' role on the next cron run.

Temporary manager expiry days - Set a default temporary manager expiry period (in days).

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk