Follow

Weekly Course Settings

Course Settings

General

Almost all options have a help button -  - which will display further information on that setting when selected. 

Setting

Description

Action to take 

Category

The category this course will be located in.

Choose a category 

Course full name

The name of the course in any course listing, and on the course homepage.

Enter a name 

Course short name 

The name of the course as diplayed in navigation breadcrumbs, and in the subject line of course emails.

Enter a short name 

Course ID number 

Leave blank (only used when matching courses with external systems).

 

Course Summary 

The description of the course as displayed in course listings - this content is also searchable, so any keywords or tags can be entered here.

Enter a description 

Format 

The type of course - SCORM, Weekly or Topics. 

Set to Weekly Format 

Number of weeks/topics 

The number of different sections in the course - can be between 1 and 52. 

 

Course start date 

This setting determines the start of the first week for a course in weekly format. It also determines the earliest date that logs of course activities are available for.

Ignore.

Hidden sections 

Administrators can hide topics from students, and either they are completely invisible or shown as 'collapsed' but still accessible. 

 

News items to show 

This setting determines how many recent items appear in the latest news block on the course page. If set to "0 news items" then the latest news block will not be displayed.

 

Show gradebook to students 

Sets whether or not a student can view their own gradebook for this course.

 

Show activity reports 

Sets whether or not a student can view their own activity reports. In the case of a SCORM course, this will only display access logs.

 

Maximum upload size 

Largest file size a learner can upload during an activity with submitted work. 

 

 

Guest access

Almost all options have a help button -  - which will display further information on that setting when selected.

Setting 

Description 

Allow guest access

This setting determines whether a user can access the course without being required to enrol first. While guests can access course material, they cannot participate or contribute to activities.

Password

Limited guest access can be created by entering a password here. Allow guest access must be set to Yes. Guests will enter the password each time they access the course. 

Groups

The grouping feature allows course forums and other activities to be used simultaneously by different groups of learners without 'seeing' each other.
Learners can be assigned to groups manually by an admin or teacher, or automatically based on the order they joined the course or the alphabetical listing of their name.
This can help create collaborative groups with more manageable sizes.

Setting

Description 

Group Mode 

Cane be set to No Groups, Separate or Visible groups. Separate groups will not be aware of each others' existence, whereas Visible groups can see each other but not collaborate. 

Force Group Mode 

If group mode is forced, then the course group mode is applied to every activity in the course. Group mode settings in each activity are then ignored.

Default grouping 

Once a grouping has been created in the course, a default setting can be chosen here. 

Availability

Setting 

Description 

Availablility 

If set to available, then students can see and access the course. 
If set to unavailable, then the course is inaccessible to anyone but administrators. 
The same option can be toggled by the hide/show icon in the course listings. 

Language

Only relevant if more language packs have been installed - leave as default. 

Student progress

A students completion of a course with mixed material and activities can be determined by a number of parameters (enrolment duration, activity completion etc).
These parameters are set elsehwere, but to be tracked at all Completion Tracking must first be Enabled.

Setting

Description 

Completion Tracking 

Can be Enabled or Disabled. 

Completion tracking begins on enrolment 

If Completion Tracking is Enabled, then tracking can begin as soon as a learner is enrolled rather than when they start any activity. 

Role renaming

Any LMS roles that have been created can be renamed for this particular course. Leave as default.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk